Second Stanford iPhone class

April 11, 2009

I just watched the second class from iPhone Application Programming, Stanford University (iTunes link here).

I guess the class is all right, considering you don’t have a lot of background on OOP and stuff. But it’s kind of weird for those who has… All the talking about OOP could be easily cut, and that would spare 20 or 30 minutes to the ObjC interesting part. Also, the API part got rushed on, because the lecturer, Alan Cannistraro, was running out of time.

Apart from that, my first impressions about ObjC is that it is a completely different language from what most of us are used to. But seems a good language, mostly for being easy to learn and begin to use. It’s also kind of weird having a ‘NS’ appended to mostly (all?) of the system classes, but I can live with that.

The assignments look more interesting, I’ll post some stuff here as I get into them.

One Response to “Second Stanford iPhone class”

  1. gregorykaiser Says:

    I am also “taking” this class. I come at it with no obj-c experience. I agree with your comments on lecture 2.

    I have been keeping up with the assignments and I find the lectures + slides + exercises to be a very good way to get going in iPhone development. I am making more progress than I did by looking at random websites or from the book I bought earlier.

    Greg

    http://gregorykaiser.wordpress.com/ is my blog of the class.


Leave a Reply

